For artists of all disciplines.




2024-2025 Timeline:

Applications Currently Open

Application Deadline: August 7, 2024, 5 pm

County Emails for Questions: 
Ashe: Joni Ray 
Alleghany: Cynthia Grant 
Watauga: Amber Bateman 
Wilkes: Marina Baxley 

Please download the powerpoint from the NC Art Council designed to assist applicants by clicking the button below.

Grant Details

Grant awards to artists generally range from $500 to $2500, depending on the amount of money each consortium raises, the number of applicants, the number of artists selected, and the types of projects funded.

If you submit requests seeking more than $2500, make it clear how you intend to pay for the project beyond what the grant covers. We need to know that the project is viable and able to be completed.

Grant requests are sometimes partially funded depending on the requests.

Who Qualifies?

The artist support grant is intended to support working artists. We do not recommend applying if you are a beginner or hobby artist unless you want to transition into the career and have a strong body of work to support that endeavor. Professors may only apply if it supports their career as an artist, not to support work for their university or classes they teach.

Make Reasonable Requests!

A jury of peers familiar with your medium will review applications. If selecting supplies or equipment, be prepared to justify why you need the items you seek. 

Types of fundable projects include:

  • Creation of a new work;
  • Purchase of equipment;
  • Professional development workshops;
  • Travel support for expenses associated with a professional opportunity such as participating in an exhibition or a conference;
  • Development or upgrading of promotional materials such as brochures, DVDs, CDs, and websites.

Artist Support Grant Application closes August 7, 2024



The Ashe County Arts Council is pleased to announce awardees of the Artist Support Grants for 2022–2023. These grants support artists in all disciplines with funding for projects that will have a significant impact on the advancement of their professional artistic careers. The Artist Support Grant program is managed through a partnership with Alleghany Arts Council, Ashe County Arts Council, Watauga Arts Council and Wilkes Art Gallery to serve artists in Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Watauga, and Wilkes counties. Funding is provided by the North Carolina Arts Council.

Awardees for the 2022-2023 Artist Support Grants are Benjamin Erlandson, (Alleghany), Andrew Arend, Patricia Leonard, Ian Wilson, (Ashe), Nicolas Cline, Travis Donovan, William Graham, Nikolas Hermanovski, Scott Ludwig, Elizabeth Wilson, Frankie Flood, Daniel Rich, (Watauga), and Carol Patton, (Wilkes).

The 2023-2024 Artist Support Grant Cycle Guidelines will be announced in 2023.

We are a designated county partner of the NC Arts Council

These grants are funded by the North Carolina Arts Council, a division of the Department of Natural and Cultural Resources.