Ashe County Arts Council exists to enrich the cultural life of the region by nurturing and supporting the arts.

The Arts Council offers leadership, collaboration & growth through the arts. The ACAC operates two facilities in Ashe County. A historic WPA building, the Ashe Arts Center, in downtown West Jefferson, houses the offices for the Arts Council, The Gallery, & Gallery Shop. The Ashe Civic Center, a 282 seat theatre space, also serves as the home of the Ashe County Little Theatre. These 2 facilities offer numerous options for arts programming.  In addition to offering year-round art experiences in these spaces, Ashe County Arts Council offers programming at other sites such as the public school systems, the Ashe Park, the West Jefferson Farmers Market, and other community spaces.


As a non-profit organization the ACAC operates with a Board of Directors reflective of Ashe County’s population. The ACAC is unusual in that we are not a membership based organization, but feel philosophically that everyone is a part of the Council.


ACAC has a staff of 3 full time employees, a 20 member board, an Advisory Board, & a large core of volunteers who provide an important component to the arts services we provide the county.


  • Wesley Barker
  • Michael Bell
  • Amber Dillingham
  • Lynne and Dave Eastburn
  • Karen Hall
  • Jane and John Maddocks
  • John MacConnell
  • Maggie McNeil
  • Dani Mory
  • Ellie Perzel
  • Kimberly Perzel
  • Barbara Sears
  • John and Lucy Smyre
  • Leila Spriggs
  • Becky Stragand
  • Pam Tapp
  • Matthew Thomas-Reid
  • Della Vodenicker

The Board of Advisors

  • Joy Campbell
  • Theresa Early Curd
  • Connie Hardison
  • Kathy Howell
  • Sharon Kasel


  • Joni Ray, Executive Director
  • Linda Dreyer, Director of Operations
  • Rebecca Williams, Program Director